MP4 Nation Forums
MP4 Nation Store - MP4 Nation Blog - MP4 Nation Facebook - Brainwavz Website

It is currently Tue Jul 22, 2014 5:15 pm

All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 12:12 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 4:55 pm
Posts: 231
I didn't report this/ask for feedback at the time, because it became a moot issue. But, right before I got my RMA for my Teclast TL-M50HD, the "Advance" button (FF, the middle one of five) "lost its click," and became spongy. It was hard to tell if it had been activated, by feel alone. I'd only had it for a couple of weeks, max. so, as I have an OS-72 en route, this is a possible issue I wanted to check out with everyone, and their experiences with the OS-72HR and or Teclast M50HD. Has this happened to your unit(s)?

If so, how long did it take before this happenend?

I am VERY gentle with my hardware (when I'm not crushing it in my sleep, lol, ref. my OS-81 post), and did not abuse the button. I did, however, use the button a lot, e.g. to advance e-book pages--but not THAT much!

I'm just gonna chalk this one up to a totally messed up Teclast unit, which had LOTS of problems, but still would like to know how others have fared. Given that you're FORCED to use buttons on this unit (i.e. there's no touchscreen), and given its otherwise rugged design, I would hope that the buttons would have MUCH more longevity than I experienced!

Thanks for your replies! :)

Will


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 12:34 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:01 pm
Posts: 14283
Location: USA
Never had any issues with mine.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 3:34 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 5:53 am
Posts: 22465
We haven't seen any issue with buttons, there have been a very few cases, but generally in all these cases a button did not work right out of the box.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 4:18 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 4:55 pm
Posts: 231
Thx, guys.

When I first pulled the M50 out of the box and inspected it, it looked like that middle button was sitting a little lower in the case than the surrounding buttons--it definitely sat lower after the thing "lost its click." So, it may technically have been semi-broken out of the box, just waiting to fail...the bubble membrane below the button could have been faulty from the git-go. Glad to know it's an uncommon problem.

:)

Will


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 9:59 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:01 pm
Posts: 14283
Location: USA
Sounds like you just got a lemon Will.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 10:26 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 4:55 pm
Posts: 231
Punishment for straying from the Nationite fold... :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 10:33 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:01 pm
Posts: 14283
Location: USA
Live and learn Will, live and learn. :P

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 12:04 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 5:53 am
Posts: 22465
just for reference, we've only ever had 1 unit that had a button issue, then was fixed but the problem occurred again, in such circumstances the actual buttons on the board were probably bad and we're in process or replacing the entire unit.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
[
SEO MOD © 2007 StarTrekGuide ]